Councilmember Tom Labonge Endorses Ben Allen for Senate

Santa Monica, CA -- Santa Monica and Malibu Unified School District Board Member Ben Allen was endorsed today in his bid for the 26th State Senate District by Los Angeles City Councilmember Tom LaBonge, who represents a significant portion of the 26th State Senate District.

“Ben Allen is a dedicated public servant and someone who I trust to look out for the constituents of the 26th State Senate District.  His creative ideas for Los Angeles’s public transportation system and his willingness to be a relentless advocate for securing funding for transportation projects are exactly what this district needs.  But what won me over is that between his work on the Santa Monica – Malibu School Board and leadership on the LA Spark Program, Ben Allen has proven himself as someone capable of getting the job done,” said Tom LaBonge. 
"Tom LaBonge is an extremely dedicated public servant who has been a great champion of expanding public mass transportation and increasing environmentally sustainable mixed use development,” said Ben Allen. "I am honored to have his endorsement.”
Tom LaBonge was first elected to the Los Angeles City Council in 2001 and has been a tireless advocate for expanding mass transportation.  He currently represents the 4th Council District of Los Angeles, which includes numerous neighborhoods located in 26th State Senate District including Beverly Hills Post Office, Fremont Place, Hancock Park, Hollywood Hills, Larchmont Village, Laurel Canyon, Miracle Mile, Park La Brea, Sunset Hills, and Windsor Square.
Ben Allen placed first among a crowded field in the open primary for the 26th State Senate District, held on June 3, 2014. 

The 26th State Senate District consists of the cities of Manhattan Beach, Hermosa Beach, Redondo Beach, Palos Verdes Estates, Rancho Palos Verdes, Rolling Hills, Rolling Hills Estates, El Segundo, Avalon, Lomita, Torrance, Santa Monica, West Hollywood, and Beverly Hills; the Los Angeles neighborhoods of Marina Del Rey, Playa Del Rey, Westchester, Pacific Palisades, Brentwood, Westwood, Westwood Village, Bel Air, Holmby Hills, Little Holmby, Sunset Hills, Beverly Grove, Mar Vista, Mid City West, Miracle Mile, Larchmont Village, Hollywood, Hollywood Hills, Fairfax, Carthay, Fremont Place, Hancock Park, and Windsor Square; and the unincorporated Los Angeles County communities of Marina Del Rey, San Clemente Island, Santa Catalina Island, Franklin, Centinela, and Ocean View.