City Councilmember Mark Burton Endorses Ben Allen For State Senate

Santa Monica, CA -- Coming off his recent first place victory in the June 2014 Primary for the 26th State Senate District, Santa Monica – Malibu Unified School District Board Member Ben Allen today received the endorsement of Manhattan Beach City Councilmember Mark Burton.   

“Ben Allen has demonstrated a critical understanding of local issues as well as the unique issues concerning the South Bay,” said Mark Burton.  “I believe that his knowledge, his record of fiscal responsibility on the school board, and his experience in local government make him the best choice to represent us in the State Senate,” he added. 

Mark Burton was first elected to the City Council of Manhattan Beach in 2013.  An attorney in private practice, he had previously worked for over three decades in the Los Angeles City Attorney’s Office.

Ben Allen placed first among a crowded field in the open primary for the 26th State Senate District, held on June 3, 2014.  He will face Sandra Fluke in a November runoff.

Burton joins a number of state and local leaders who are backing Allen for the 26th State Senate District race, including State Senator Fran Pavley, former State Senator Tom Hayden and Alan Sieroty, Assemblymembers Steven Bradford, Isadore Hall III, Supervisor Zev Yaroslavsky, former Assemblymembers Terry Friedman and Richard Katz, and Former Manhattan Beach Mayor Portia Cohen.


The 26th State Senate District consists of the cities of Manhattan Beach, Hermosa Beach, Redondo Beach, Palos Verdes Estates, Rancho Palos Verdes, Rolling Hills, Rolling Hills Estates, El Segundo, Avalon, Lomita, Torrance, Santa Monica, West Hollywood, and Beverly Hills; the Los Angeles neighborhoods of Marina Del Rey, Playa Del Rey, Westchester, Pacific Palisades, Brentwood, Westwood, Westwood Village, Bel Air, Holmby Hills, Little Holmby, Sunset Hills, Beverly Grove, Mar Vista, Mid City West, Miracle Mile, Larchmont Village, Hollywood, Hollywood Hills, Fairfax, Carthay, Fremont Place, Hancock Park, and Windsor Square; and the unincorporated Los Angeles County communities of Marina Del Rey, San Clemente Island, Santa Catalina Island, Franklin, Centinela, and Ocean View.    

# # #